The Arrival

On June 22nd, 2017, we welcomed our son into the world! It took 5 years for him to arrive, which seemed like forever in retrospect. If you’re reading this because you have just gone through or are about to go through a reversal, I wish you the very best and hope you will have a smooth recovery!

4 responses to “The Arrival”

  1. Angelique says :

    That is amazing news! Congratulations. My husband just had his VR 2 months ago so we are just starting the journey and the first analysis is not good. I will be reading your blog and taking notes. Again, congratulations!

    • jhilgeman2 says :

      Thanks – I’d definitely recommend reading about the post-surgery inflammation that led to my first analysis (which was a zero count). Hard to believe that something as simple as a regimen of Advil would have any effect (especially when I wasn’t having any sort of pain or anything unusual down there), but it did for me. Just check with your doctor about this possibility!

  2. Angelique says :

    I’m going to ask my husbands dr about the Advil regimen.. it turns out my husbands testosterone is so low it’s not even in range. So now we have that to work with! I don’t know if you read this anymore, but his dr suggested clomid and said without intervention there is no way we could get pregnant. He said its one thing to be dealing with just a VR, but adding a hormonal imbalance and my husbands age (46), he is not optimistic. The only positive from what we hear is that I’m 30 so my age is not another factor. And my husband has had kids before. I wish more men spoke about their experience with VR, your blog is one of the few I’ve found!

    • jhilgeman2 says :

      Just be aware there are different “intervention” options. When we saw the cost of IVR, it was something we couldn’t afford, but there were some less expensive options that would “wash” a sperm sample and inject the result via something that looked like a turkey baster. It was far more affordable. It didn’t work for us, as I’ve mentioned, but that doesn’t mean it won’t work for someone else. If it didn’t work at all, they wouldn’t do it.

      Something else to mention to your husband – masturbation is going to work against your goals. A lot of guys can get into a routine where it’s a fairly regular activity, and some wives may not even be aware that they’re doing it. It’s not really a bad thing by itself (it has nothing to do with spousal satisfaction, and he will probably have to get used to it for a bit if/when you’re pregnant), but it’s often a sensitive topic.

      Anyway, it’s bad for getting pregnant. Frequency depends on the guy, but ANY orgasm is going to “clear the tubes” so to speak, so it’ll reduce the amount of sperm available during sex. Sperm population should constantly be “building up”, and he’ll probably have the highest population after 3-5 days without ejaculating (which could also mean that sex is over pretty quickly if he’s used to frequent release – again depends on the guy).

      So make sure he starts prepping (by abstaining from ejaculation) a good while before you start your fertile period of the month. i wish you the best of luck!

Leave a comment